Click on the ad for more information

Wednesday, 9 August 2017


Bobby takes another podium finish 

A cool sunny morning welcomed the crowds and  drivers to Brands Hatch for the 20 minute qualifying session. The field streamed out the pits and began working heat into their new Hankook tyres. Team Hard’s Jamie Bond broke the timing beam first throwing down a bench mark time, which was quickly matched by Thompson as he flashed across the line. After 20 minutes the chequered flag dropped and Jamie Bond was just 500ths of a second in front of Thompson.

“ I drove the socks off the car in qualifying,  I knew I had full success ballast on the car from the previous rounds at Snetterton, so I am really pleased to qualify so close to Jamie, the difference of only 500 ths of a second, that’s about as quick as you blink”. 

Bobby Thompson lined up on the second place in his red, white and Blue GKR Scaffolding liveried Golf R. As the lights flashed off, Jamie Bond launched off the line making the best start from the leading group demoting Bobby down to 5th place. Undeterred Bobby kept a clear head and continued his fight for top honors.    

The pole man had taken full advantage of Thompson’s slow start and by lap 3 had a 3 second lead over the chasing pack. Bobby had begun applying the pressure and was soon back in second place and chasing the lead man, lap after lap Thompson set fastest laps and was closing down on the leader but the chequered flag was dropped before the newly back Northern Alliance Bluefin insurance car could challenge for the win. 

The sun continued to shine for the final 20 minute race of the day for the Volkswagen Racing Cup competitors. With the revers grid of race one Bobby had to start in 6th place with further pressure of knowing he was caring extra success ballast from his race one second place finish. 

As the lights flashed off Bobby bogged down on the start and was demoted down to 10th place, undeterred Bobby started to pick of his fellow competitors in in GKR Scaffolding Golf. 

After 15 minutes of the 20 minute race the 21year old had successfully reached 3rd place position, but not for long as he approached the infamous first corner of the Kent circuit two competitors passed Bobby, showing that the maximum success ballast that he was carrying as part of the championships regulations to make the racing fair for all drivers was doing what it had intended, making for close racing. With just one lap to go Bobby was unable to remake up the places and crossed the finish line in 5th place 

“This has been another good weekend, qualifying in Second and by such a small margin knowing I was carrying full weight, then a second and fifth brings in some good championship points” 

 We had one of our sponsors GKR Scaffolding down today with their guests, I hope they have all had a great day, it’s just a bit of a shame that I didn’t have a winner’s cap to give them this time. I hope to win one for them at the next race meeting. 

Bobby returns to the Brands Hatch circuit in two weeks’ time on the short Indy circuit for the German Car Festival race meeting   

“I would like to thank our main Sponsor GKR but more so the smaller sponsors we have. Braintree Motor works, Orlight, Brentwood Brick works, Solar Advanced Systems, Amber Motorhomes and our new sponsors Northern Alliance Blufin insurance. These guys do not get the exposure of my title sponsor but without their support I would not be out racing