Monday, 25 January 2016

Britcar Announce Dunlop Prototype Series for 2016

The Britcar Dunlop Endurance and Production Championships are now under new management  and have already received a great response and entries.

Britcar have decided to expand their 'family' a little following interest received from Prototype/CN race car teams whose cars are not eligible for the Dunlop Endurance and Dunlop Production Championships.  Following consultations, Britcar have announced the all new "Dunlop Prototype Series for 2016".

Due to the time constraints, this will be a series this year and Britcar will be working with the MSA to get full Championship status for 2017. The Dunlop Prototype Series 2016 will consist of 4 rounds as outlined below. The programme will be increased to at least 6 and possibly as many as 8 rounds in 2017,. The championship will also be part of the full Britcar Package. 

The provisional dates for this season are as follows:

1-3rd April: Silverstone GP - 2 x 1 hour races £ 1,700 plus VAT 
(part of the Hankook 24 Hours of Silverstone weekend)

16th July: Donington - 1 hour, £1200 plus VAT

3rd - 4th September: Snetterton - 1 hour, £1200 plus VAT

7-9th October: Spa - 2 hour, £1995 plus VAT

All events will include 20 minutes warm up and 30 minutes qualifying. The series will have the same full VIP Hospitality as the Dunlop Production and Dunlop Endurance Championships, for 2 people per Car but additional hospitality tickets can be bought prior to the event. 

There is currently no TV coverage but please watch this space as this may change. The full  TV package will return in 2017 to match the other Championships. 

The regulations / classification are still being worked on and will be finalised shortly. Here is a list of the some of the types of cars that will be eligible so you can get a flavour of the racing. This is not an exhaustive list so please contact us with your car details if it is not one of those listed below:

Ginetta G57 (pictured )
Radical RXC, RXC Spyder,  SR3 & SR8
Praga R1
Cars built to the CN classification

Licence required

Possibly National A for the quickest Class and National B for all the rest, as per the Dunlop Endurance Championship.  A National A will be required for the round at Spa. 

The format of the races will be similar to the Dunlop Endurance Championship with a mandatory 90 second pit stop and success pit stop  penalties. The pit stop allows for 2 drivers to share the Car with no disadvantage over a single driver entry.