Friday, 4 May 2018

TCR Scandinavia Preview

Unpredictable season begins in Knutstorp

The second season of TCR Scandinavia kicks off this weekend at Knutstorp with a strong field of 21 cars.

"We look forward to a very competitive season. The field is the toughest in many years and to predict the championship winning team and driver is totally impossible,” said Hans Bååth, Chairman of the Board, STCC AB.
The official test day that took place at Knutstorp last week showed how close competition will be. 

PWR Racing is determined to retain the title won by Robert Dahlgren in 2017; the team placed its three Cupra cars on top of the timesheet with Daniel Haglöff (59.913), Dhalgren (59.945) and TCR rookie Philip Morin (1:00.053).

The Volkswagen Golf GTI cars were immediately behind, with West Coast Racing's Fredrik Ekblom (1:00.190) and Kristoffersson Motorsport's Johan Kristoffersson (1:00.412) in fourth and fifth position respectively.

The four fastest drivers have all been quicker than the previous track record for TCR cars at Knutstorp, with Haglöff and Dahlgren the first to break the 60-second wall.

Andreas Ahlberg of Micke Kågered Racing was sixth fastest in his Golf (1:00.509), but Micke Ohlsson of Brink Motorsport proved that the battle will not be restricted to the Cupra and Volkswagen drivers, setting the seventh fastest lap in his Audi RS3 LMS (1:00.518).

From this year the series will also award the JTCC title to the best driver between 17 and 22 years of age.